Projektstatus: Idea Release In use

CH+ Games for Democracy

CH+ Games for Democracy uses game mechanics for political self-education and helps voters select their ideal candidates during elections. CH+ is based on co-design and invites users to be part of the design process. 

#Round 1 

Project CH+ addresses political self-education of young voters, in the context of digitalisation and increasingly easy access to entertainment media. In their free time, digital natives find themselves between “digital stress” and “digital bliss”. The always readily available world of entertainment and social media connects but also distracts. It offers us unlimited, highly appealing content that is in many ways more alluring than reading up about political candidates. Project CH+ uses the entertainment language to break through this “entertainment bubble”.

We believe that digital, interactive media can not only be used for entertainment, but that they are powerful tools for educational purposes. A democratic system needs educated, self-reflected people: old, young – now and in a digitalised future. As designers, creators of entertainment media and as IT developers, we have a responsibility to use our unique knowledge of technology and psychology to empower people in this digitalised future. 

With this conviction, we are creating a voting aid which uses game mechanics to make political self-education more inviting. Game concepts are implemented, to not only facilitate the decision making process during political elections, but to make it more exciting as well. You get to choose stuff! That’s pretty dope!

Our process to create applications that are useful and playfully engaging, is built on co-design. The concepts are created together with voters, political experts and game designers from all walks of life. The voting aid is developed on a cantonal level, from election to election – because a project for democracy needs a democratic approach.

Blog

Team Members

  • Sophie Walker 
  • Emma McMillin 
  • Florian Meyer 
  • Oliver Detig 
  • Mela Kocher

Contact

Email:

Website

Instagram

Twitter

Facebook 

Youtube

 

Media

SRF, 9.10.2020

Projektstatus: Idea Release In use

CH+ Games for Democracy

CH+ Games for Democracy nutzt Game Mechaniken zur politischen Selbstbildung und hilft den Wählerinnen und Wählern, ihre idealen Kandidat*innen auszuwählen. CH+ basiert auf Co-Design und lädt die Nutzerinnen und Nutzer ein, Teil des Designprozesses zu sein.

#Runde 1 

Vor dem Hintergrund der Digitalisierung und des immer leichteren Zugangs zu Unterhaltungsmedien, befasst sich das Projekt CH+ mit der politischen Selbstbildung  junger Wählerinnen und Wähler. In ihrer Freizeit befinden sich Digital Natives zwischen “digitalem Stress” und “digitaler Glückseligkeit”. Die stets einfacher zugängliche Welt der Unterhaltung und der sozialen Medien verbindet. Sie lenkt aber auch ab, da sie unbegrenzte, hochattraktive Inhalte bietet, die in vielerlei Hinsicht verlockender sind, als sich über politische Kandidat*innen zu informieren. Das Projekt CH+ nutzt die Entertainment-Sprache, um diese „Entertainment-Blase“ zu durchbrechen.

Wir finden, dass digitale, interaktive Medien nicht nur zur Unterhaltung genutzt werden können, sondern dass sie auch ein ausgezeichnetes Werkzeug für Bildung und Vermittlung darstellen. Ein demokratisches System braucht gebildete, selbstreflektierte Menschen: alt, jung – jetzt und in einer digitalisierten Zukunft. Als Designer*innen, Entwickler*innen von Entertainment Medien und als IT-Entwickler*innen haben wir eine Verantwortung, unser einzigartiges Wissen über Technologie und Psychologie dazu zu nutzen, Leute in dieser digitalisierten Zukunft zu unterstützen.

Mit dieser Überzeugung schaffen wir eine Wahlhilfe, die Spielmechaniken nutzt, um politische Selbstbildung einladender zu gestalten. Game-Design-Konzepte werden angewandt, um den Entscheidungsprozess bei politischen Wahlen nicht nur zu erleichtern, sondern auch spannender zu machen. Du darfst was aussuchen! Das ist ziemlich nice!

Unser Prozess zur Erstellung von Anwendungen, die nützlich und spielerisch ansprechend sind, basiert auf Co-Design. Die Konzepte werden zusammen mit Wähler*innen, Politikexpert*innen und Spieldesigner*innen aus verschiedenen Gesellschaftsschichten erstellt. Die Wahlhilfe wird auf kantonaler Ebene entwickelt, von Wahl zu Wahl – ein Projekt für Demokratie braucht einen demokratischen Ansatz.

Team 

  • Sophie Walker 
  • Emma McMillin 
  • Florian Meyer 
  • Oliver Detig 
  • Mela Kocher

Kontakt

Email:

Website

Instagram

Twitter

Facebook 

Youtube

Medien

SRF, 9.10.2020