Projektstatus: Idea Release In use

impACT

ImpACT collects and links open data on Swiss democracy with the interests of citizens and shows them how they can effectively participate in it.

#Round 2 

impACT is a digital solution aiming to solve the problem of low political participation amongst Generation Z in municipalities in Switzerland. To do this, it will address the decentralization and inaccessibility of political information at their roots. The platform will centralize previously disparate data by extracting, cleaning and aggregating open data from the Swiss Federal Statistics Office, the Swiss parliament, the cantons and municipalities. And, it will make politics more approachable by concentrating fundamentally on the things individual citizens already care about — and redirecting them accordingly towards tangible political opportunities. This will be made possible through tools like “values profiles,” which will display specific information and targeted actions according to users’ values and interests.

The idea for this project came about after our team noticed a disconnect between Swiss youth’s desire for political impact and neglect of political tools. Young people are engaging with political causes in novel ways on social media platforms. But, meanwhile, voter turnout at Swiss municipal elections has fallen over 40 per cent in the last 30 years. This is troubling because, since Switzerland consults its citizens more than any other country, low voter turnout means a small fraction of the population determines the outcomes of myriad key issues for the entire country. It could even lead to the collapse of our democratic system.

In line with the United Nations’ 16th Sustainable Development Goal, which calls explicitly for “public access to information” and “representative decision-making,” we’re confident impACT will bridge this gap and revive political participation in Switzerland.

Team

  • Johann Roduit
  • Alexandre Luyet
  • Orlanne Perey
  • François Farquet

Contact and website

Projektstatus: Idea Release In use

impACT

ImpACT sammelt und verknüpft offene Daten zur Schweizer Demokratie mit Interessen der Bürger:innen und zeigt ihnen so auf, wie sie sich darin wirksam einbringen können.

#Runde 2 

impACT ist eine digitale Lösung, die zum Ziel hat, das Problem der tiefen politischen Beteiligung der Generation Z in den Gemeinden der Schweiz zu lösen. Zu diesem Zweck wird sie die Dezentralisierung und Unzugänglichkeit politischer Informationen an der Wurzel packen. Die Plattform wird bisher disparate Daten zentralisieren, indem sie offene Daten des Bundesamts für Statistik, des Schweizer Parlaments, der Kantone und Gemeinden extrahiert, bereinigt und aggregiert. Und sie wird die Politik zugänglicher machen, indem sie sich grundlegend auf die Dinge konzentriert, die den einzelnen Bürgerinnen und Bürgern bereits wichtig sind – und sie entsprechend auf konkrete politische Möglichkeiten umlenkt. Ermöglicht wird dies durch Instrumente wie „Werteprofile“, die den Nutzern je nach ihren Werten und Interessen spezifische Informationen und gezielte Aktionen anzeigen.

Die Idee zu diesem Projekt entstand, nachdem unser Team eine Diskrepanz zwischen dem Wunsch der Schweizer Jugend nach politischer Wirkung und der Vernachlässigung politischer Instrumente festgestellt hatte. Junge Menschen engagieren sich auf neue Art und Weise auf Social-Media-Plattformen für politische Anliegen. Gleichzeitig ist die Wahlbeteiligung bei den Schweizer Kommunalwahlen in den letzten 30 Jahren um über 40 Prozent gesunken. Dies ist besorgniserregend, denn da die Schweiz ihre Bürgerinnen und Bürger mehr als jedes andere Land konsultiert, bedeutet eine niedrige Wahlbeteiligung, dass ein kleiner Teil der Bevölkerung die Ergebnisse zahlreicher wichtiger Themen für das ganze Land bestimmt. Dies könnte sogar zum Zusammenbruch unseres demokratischen Systems führen.

Im Einklang mit dem 16. Ziel für nachhaltige Entwicklung der Vereinten Nationen, das ausdrücklich „öffentlichen Zugang zu Informationen“ und „repräsentative Entscheidungsfindung“ fordert, sind wir zuversichtlich, dass impACT diese Lücke schließen und die politische Beteiligung in der Schweiz wiederbeleben wird.

Team

  • Johann Roduit
  • Alexandre Luyet
  • Orlanne Perey
  • François Farquet

Kontakt und Website