Projektstatus: Idea Release In use

impACT

ImpACT collects and links open data on Swiss democracy with the interests of citizens and shows them how they can effectively participate in it.

#Round 2 

impACT is a digital solution aiming to solve the problem of low political participation amongst Generation Z in municipalities in Switzerland. To do this, it will address the decentralization and inaccessibility of political information at their roots. The platform will centralize previously disparate data by extracting, cleaning and aggregating open data from the Swiss Federal Statistics Office, the Swiss parliament, the cantons and municipalities. And, it will make politics more approachable by concentrating fundamentally on the things individual citizens already care about — and redirecting them accordingly towards tangible political opportunities. This will be made possible through tools like “values profiles,” which will display specific information and targeted actions according to users’ values and interests.

The idea for this project came about after our team noticed a disconnect between Swiss youth’s desire for political impact and neglect of political tools. Young people are engaging with political causes in novel ways on social media platforms. But, meanwhile, voter turnout at Swiss municipal elections has fallen over 40 per cent in the last 30 years. This is troubling because, since Switzerland consults its citizens more than any other country, low voter turnout means a small fraction of the population determines the outcomes of myriad key issues for the entire country. It could even lead to the collapse of our democratic system.

In line with the United Nations’ 16th Sustainable Development Goal, which calls explicitly for “public access to information” and “representative decision-making,” we’re confident impACT will bridge this gap and revive political participation in Switzerland.

Team

  • Johann Roduit
  • Alexandre Luyet
  • Orlanne Perey
  • François Farquet

Contact and website

Projektstatus: Idea Release In use

impACT

ImpACT met dans la poche de chaque citoyenne un outil simple regroupant toutes données ouvertes de la démocratie suisse et les met en lien avec ses intérêts personnels pour qu’elle/il puisse comprendre facilement comment avoir un impact réel.

#Round 2 

impACT est une solution numérique visant à augmenter la faible participation politique au niveau communal de la génération Z en Suisse. Pour ce faire, elle résoudra le problème de décentralisation et d’inaccessibilité de certaines données politiques. La plateforme centralisera des données jusque là disparates en extrayant, nettoyant et agrégeant des données ouvertes de l’Office fédéral de la statistique, du Parlement suisse, des cantons et des municipalités. Elle rendra la politique plus accessible en se concentrant fondamentalement sur les sujets qui intéressent déjà les citoyens — en les redirigeant vers des opportunités politiques tangibles. Cela sera rendu possible grâce à des outils tels que les « profils de valeurs », qui affichent des informations spécifiques et des actions ciblées en fonction des valeurs et des intérêts des utilisateurs.

Notre équipe a conçu impACT après avoir constaté un décalage entre le désir d’impact politique de la jeunesse suisse et sa négligence des outils politiques. Les jeunes s’engagent dans des causes politiques de manière originale sur les plateformes de médias sociaux. Mais, simultanément, le taux de participation aux élections municipales suisses a chuté de plus de 40% au cours des 30 dernières années. C’est inquiétant car, comme la Suisse consulte ses citoyens et citoyennes plus que tout autre pays, un faible taux de participation signifie qu’une petite fraction de la population détermine les résultats d’une myriade de questions clés pour l’ensemble du pays. Cela pourrait même conduire à l’effondrement de notre système démocratique.

Conformément au 16e objectif de développement durable des Nations Unies, qui appelle explicitement à « l’accès du public à l’information » et à « une prise de décision représentative », nous sommes convaincus qu’impACT comblera ce fossé et relancera la participation politique en Suisse.

Equipe

  • Johann Roduit
  • Alexandre Luyet
  • Orlanne Perey
  • François Farquet

Contact et site web